10th Anniversary Celebrations of Ainslie Village redevelopment


Canberra’s first-ever aged care facility celebrated a significant milestone last night, the 10th Anniversary of Ainslie Village redevelopment. Village residents, employees, Ministers, specialist guests and members of the board celebrated in style with drinks and canapes at Goodwin House.

“It was a wonderful evening to acknowledge residents, staff and all who have been here since the beginning of the decade long journey, and all those who made this village what is it today – the former Goodwin Board Members, executives, Estate Committee and partners who had the vision and leadership to drive the redevelopment” says Liesel Wett, Chair of the Board of Directors.

Goodwin House was Canberra’s very first aged care facility and Canberra’s first housing designed for seniors. Opened in 1961 by the Prime Minister of the day, Sir Robert Menzies, the village was designed to provide spaces, apartments and amenities to the surrounding community that are contemporary and provide a place to enjoy with friends and family. The redevelopment was opened on the 12 May 2008 by the former ACT Chief Minister Jon Stanhope and the Federal Minister for Ageing, Justine Elliott.

Thank you to our esteemed guests, The Honourable Zed Seselja, Assistant Minister for Science, Jobs and Innovation and Ms Rachel Stephen-Smith, Minister for Community Services and Social Inclusion for your insightful words, and other assembly members. It was terrific to be joined by so many MLAs at the celebrations and supporting Goodwin.

It was wonderful to hear from our resident speakers, Ms Mary McPake from the residential care community and Ms Margaret Astbury from the independent living village who both have resided at Goodwin since the opening of the new village 10 years ago.

With thanks to AMC Architecture and Capezio & Co, Ainslie Village won over 10 significant awards, including Special Purpose Housing of The Year winner four years in a row and Outdoor Living Project of the Year in 2009. In 2008, 2009 and 2012 Goodwin Village Ainslie was awarded the Master Builders and Boral Awards, winner for Special Purpose dwelling 2008, and in 2009 Winner in Commercial landscaping category with Urban Contractors and DSB Landscape.

In 2009 the Property Council of Australia (ACT), awarded Goodwin House the Rider Levett Bucknall Certificate of Commendation.

At last night’s event, guests were treated to delicious canapes from Goodwin House Head Chef Sandeep Vaid and lovely music by musician Jackie Lee who is also a care team leader and Endorsed Enrolled Nurse.

It was a great event to reflect on all the hard work and achievements of Goodwin House, celebrate the residents and acknowledge this special milestone.

‘Thank you to all who came along to celebrate with us and we wish the community many more happy years at Ainslie Village’, Sue Levy, Chief Executive Officer.

Sue Levy, Chief Executive Officer, The Honourable Zed Seselja, Assistant Minister for Science, Jobs and Innovation, Ms Rachel Stephen-Smith, Minister for Community Services and Social Inclusion and Liesel Wett, Chair of the Board of Directors celebrating this special event at Goodwin House.